Sign Up Here

Public Policy

About our State Legislature

Montana's Legislature meets every two years, convening only on the odd-numbered years. The Legislature is composed of a 100 member House of Representatives and a 50 member Senate. Members of the House serve two-year terms and may serve four 2-year concurrent terms. Senators serve four-year terms and are limited to two 4-year consecutive terms.

The State Constitution mandates that the legislative session lasts no more than 90 days. If the work of the Legislature is not finished within the 90 day period, a special session may be convened. The Constitution mandates that the primary responsibility of Montana's Legislature is to pass a balanced biennial budget to be approved by the Governor.

2019 Legislative Session Advocacy